Minnesota Historical Society M-Flame Logo

Sibley House Historic Site

Mailing Address:
1357 Sibley Memorial Hwy.
Mendota, MN 55150
Directions

Hours

Open select hours for special programs
(see Events & Programs)

Admission

  • $7 adults
  • $6 seniors and students w/ID
  • $6 active military personnel w/ID
  • $5 children 6-17
  • FREE for children age 5 and under and MNHS members
  • FREE PARKING

Contact

651-452-1596

Events & Programs

These are signature events offered each year. For a current listing of all events visit the online calendar.

Mendota After Hours

Mendota After Hours

Fri, May 8, 2015
Fri, June 12, 2015
Fri, July 10, 2015
Fri, August 7, 2015
Fri, September 11, 2015
Fri, October 9, 2015

5:30 - 7:30 pm (each night)

Have a drink with your friends at the Sibley House while learning about Minnesota's past. This new series offers fascinating stories of historic people, places, and events in a unique setting. Guest speakers will present different historical topics each month.... more

Henry Sibley: Minnesota's Controversial Founding Father

Henry Sibley: Minnesota's Controversial Founding Father

Sat, June 13, 2015
Sat, June 27, 2015
Sat, July 25, 2015
Sat, August 8, 2015
Sat, August 22, 2015

11 am - 3 pm (each day)

Henry Hastings Sibley is known as one of Minnesota’s Founding Fathers. He was a national politician, a founder of the Minnesota Territory, leading architect of its constitution and the first governor of Minnesota. Some view Sibley as a cultural leader who bridged... more

Family Art Day

Family Art Day / Open House

Sat, July 11, 2015

11 am - 4 pm

In the 1890s, Minnesota artist Burt Harwood taught a summer art school at the Sibley House property. Visit the same beautiful place that inspired him and create art as well as memories with family and friends. Try out different kinds of art, inspired by history and nature, at art... more